Assigning Work to Your Classrooms


How do I assign work to my classrooms?

Go to Assignment

To assign work to your classrooms, open the assignment from the My Content page and click the purple Assign Work button.

Set Assigned Work Settings

You can then set the assigned work settings. This means:

  • editing the assignment name (if you would like)
  • selecting the classroom(s) to assign work to
  • setting the submission window
  • setting an optional grace period for late submissions
  • turning on/off the ability for students to complete fully online submissions
  • turning on/off the ability for students to see the correct answers after they submit
  • turning on/off the ability for students to retry problems they get incorrect.

Back to top


How do I set or change the submission window for an assigned work?

Setting the Submission window

When you assign work to a class, you can use the Open Date and Due Date fields to set a submission window for your assignment. 

Please note that assigned works will open and become visible to students at 12:00am on the open date and close at 11:59pm on the due date by default. These times are in the teacher's local time zone. 

Any assignment that is assigned before the open date will be hidden from students until 12:00am on the open date.

Changing the Submission Window

After you assign work to a class, you can always change the submission window. To do this, you will need to open the assignment from the  Assigned Work page and click on the gear icon in the upper right corner to access the settings.

Back to top


How do I turn on/off the ability for students to request a regrade?

Account Settings

You can always control the ability for students to request regrade for problems they get incorrect by changing your account settings. To do this, click on your profile picture and go to the My Account page. 

Turn on/off Notifications

Use the toggle next to the A student requested a regrade option to turn on or off the regrade requests. When the toggle is on, or purple, students can request regrades. You can always click on the toggle to turn the feature off so that students cannot request regrades.

Back to top


How do I turn on/off the ability for students to complete assignments fully online?

Check/Uncheck Complete Online

When you assign work to a class, you can check the box next to  Allow students to complete online to allow students to complete assignments fully online. If you uncheck the box, students must complete the printed version of the assignment and upload their completed work.

You can always change these settings after students have submitted work if you would like to allow students to complete assignments fully online for a limited amount of time.

Back to top


How do I turn on/off the ability for students to see the correct answers?

Check/Uncheck Correct Answers

When you assign work to a class, you can check the box next to Show correct answers to allow students to see the correct answers to problems they get incorrect. If you uncheck the box, students will not have access to the solutions for problems they get incorrect.

You can always change these settings after students have submitted work if you would like to only allow students to see the correct answers after a certain amount of time.

Back to top


How do I turn on/off the ability for students to retry problems?

Check/Uncheck Retries

When you assign work to a class, you can check the box next to Allow students to retry to allow students to retry problems they get incorrect. If you leave the box unchecked, students will not be able to try any problems again.

You can always change these settings after students have submitted work if you would like to allow retries for a limited amount of time.

Back to top


How do I delete an assigned work?

Go to Assigned Work Settings

Open the assignment from the Assigned Work page and click on the gear icon in the upper right corner to access the settings.

Delete Assignment

You can then use the Delete Assigned Work button to delete the assignment.

Please note that when you delete an assigned work, you will no longer be able to use the handout. (Each handout has a barcode which identifies the classroom and version of the assignment.)

Confirm Action

You will then be asked to confirm that you would like to delete the assigned work.

Back to top